16 September 2011

U.N. Secretary General says member states determine list of non-self governing territories

13 September 2011

Department of Public Information • News and Media Division • New York 

Secretary-general says member states determine list
of non self-governing territories

The following statement was issued today by the Spokesperson for Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon:

In the course of the press conference which he gave in Auckland, New Zealand, on 7 September, the Secretary-General was asked a number of questions about regional issues, including one on the Indonesian province of Papua and the United Nations Decolonization Committee.

In response, he stated that it was up to the Member States to decide on the re-listing or de-listing of any territory as a non-self-governing territory.

His off-the-cuff response may have led to the misunderstanding that he was suggesting the matter of Papua should be placed on the agenda of the Decolonization Committee.  The Secretary-General wishes to clarify that this was not his intention.

1 comment:

Leon Siu said...

Then Secretary Ban should clarify what he meant! How do we get such a matter before the General Assembly? It would be of particular importance to the peoples of Hawaii and Alaska whose countries were de-listed in 1959, based on a fraudulent report the US submitted to the UN.