24 July 2013

New coin commemorating 150th Anniversary of Abolition and Liberation in Dutch West Indies

Coin Update

Netherlands Antilles: 150th Anniversary of Abolition

 and Liberation

The Central Bank of Curacao and Sint Maarten have launched (1st July) a new coin which marks the 150th anniversary of the abolition of the slave trade in the Dutch West Indies – presently the islands of Aruba, Bonaire, Curacao and St. Maarten. The initial rebellion which took place in 1795 on the island of Curacao was led by a slave by the name of Tula – who did not survive the battle. It wasn’t until 1862 in which a law was proposed outlawing the slave trade in Dutch held possessions including Dutch Guyana or present-day Suriname. This law was passed in the same year and on the 1st July 1863, all slaves originating from West Africa and living in Dutch colonies in the Americas were liberated.

Netherlands Antilles

The coin, which includes a depiction of the very monument dedicated to the slave Tula, is seen on the obverse along with the text “Verbreek de Ketenen” (Break the shackles) which is seen below the primary design. The commemorative years “1863 – 2013” are also included in the main design.

Struck by the Royal Dutch Mint, the coin is struck to proof quality and has a strict mintage of just 750 pieces. The Authority denoted on the reverse is The Netherlands Antilles.

5 Gulden
.925 silver
11.9 grams
29 mm.
750 pieces