22 September 2014

Stubborn Retention of Empire: British 'misrepresentations' on sovereignty of Malvinas Islands challenged again by Argentina

Illustration by Jose Eduardo Enrique

____________________________

A/68/978
General Assembly
Distr.: General
20 August 2014
English
Original: Spanish


Sixty-eighth session
Agenda item 44

Question of the Falkland Islands (Malvinas)

Letter dated 13 August 2014 from the Permanent Representative of Argentina to the United Nations addressed to the Secretary-General:
I have the honour to write to you on instructions from my Government in order  to transmit herewith a reply to the letter dated 10 February 2014 from the Permanent Representative of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland to the United Nations (A/68/747), which in turn responded to the letter of 3 January 2014 sent by Argentina (A/68/698).

The Argentine Republic once again expresses its regret that the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland has continued to misrepresent historical facts in a clear attempt to conceal the act of usurpation it committed in 1833; this act has, since the moment the British invaded, been the subject of continuing and repeated protests by Argentina.

Reaffirming the Argentine Republic’s legitimate sovereignty rights over the Malvinas Islands, South Georgia Islands and South Sandwich Islands and the surrounding maritime areas, I should be grateful if you would have this letter circulated as a document of the General Assembly under agenda item 44, concerning the question of the Malvinas Islands.

READ THE FULL LETTER ON THE UNITED NATIONS WEBSITE.


California Electric Car Boom Accounts For 40 Percent of U.S. Sales




EcoWatch
Anastasia Pantsios

In the last four years, 250,000 electric vehicles were sold in the U.S. and 40 percent of those—102,440— were sold in California, according to the Plug-In Electric Vehicle Collaborative. That includes both battery-driven and hybrid cars. Palo Alto-based Tesla, which just announced the construction of a massive battery factory in next-door Nevada, is responsible for 10 percent of those sales.

“California’s plug-in electric vehicle market is ramping up, and we expect to see significant growth over the next ten years as customers realize how economical and convenient they are,”said California Plug-In Electric Vehicle Collaborative executive director Christine Kehoe.
California has been in the forefront of pushing for the adoption of fuel-efficient vehicles. It’s been leaning on automakers to lower tailpipe emissions since the ’70s, and in 2009, the state set new, tougher standards under its Zero-Emission Vehicle program, fueling the boom in EVs. Governor Jerry Brown has set a goal of 1.5 million electric vehicles on the road in the state by 2025.
That means more charging stations are needed to keep the cars running. Currently, more than a quarter of the charging stations in the U.S. are in California, with growing demand. The San Jose Mercury News reported in January the EV owners at Silicon Valley companies are fighting over the chargers at their work places.
ChargePoint, the world’s largest EV charging network, opening 500 new stations a month internationally, is one of the companies installing such public charging stations in California.
“Gasoline is four dollars a gallon in California and rising,” pointed out ChargePoint founder and chief technical officer Richard Lowenthal. “Consumers want alternatives and we’re here to help make the best alternative—electricity—more accessible, and to make electric vehicles more appealing.”

17 September 2014

Micronesian Freely Associated States Sign Trade Agreement

PINA



Three North Pacific nations, Federated States of Micronesia, Marshall Islands and Palau have signed an historic Treaty that establishes the Micronesian Trade and Economic Community.



The treaty was signed in the margins of the 3rd International Conference on Small Island Developing States in Apia last week.

Presidents Emmanuel Mori of the Federated States of Micronesia (FSM), Christopher Loeak of the Republic of the Marshall Islands, and Tommy Remensgau Jr. of the Republic of Palau, officially formalized their historical trade and economic bonds when they signed the Treaty establishing the Micronesian Trade and Economic Community. 


The vision and goals of the Treaty are to ‘…endeavor towards the creation of a Micronesian Trade and economic community through the promotion of sub-regional trade and economic cooperation and integration to support the achievement of sustainable and equitable socio-economic development of its Member States and improve the standard and quality of life of their People, thus contributing to the progress and development of Asia and the Pacific Region.’ 



In their statements, the three Presidents emphasized the historical importance of the event. 

President Mori said the new Treaty is a ‘true reflection of the Micronesian spirit of collaboration which characterized the relations between the three entities.’


He indicated that the Treaty provides the appropriate institutional framework through which small producers of the three countries could network and meet the demands of the domestic and international markets, in particular for agriculture, aquaculture, and tourism products. 


President Mori noted that there were provisions in the Treaty allowing the Republic of Kiribati, Nauru, and the Territories of Guam and Commonwealth of Northern Mariana Islands to join at a later stage. 


President Christopher Loeak of Marshall Islands said ‘the signing marked a significant milestone for the three nations in their efforts to fully integrate trade and economic initiatives.’


President Loeak also stressed that ‘the Micronesian Trade and Economic cooperation and integration initiative constituted a building block towards greater integration of the three Countries in the Pacific, Asia and the global economy as envisaged in the New Framework for Pacific Regionalism.’ 


Taking the example of the copra industry which collapsed in Palau 20 years ago, President Tommy Remensgau Jr. stressed that through sub-regional trade and economic cooperation and integration pursued under the treaty, it would be possible for productive sector to consolidate the volume of the products available; and thus increase the raw material available to support the development of small industries. 


The Presidents of the three countries commended the partnership between the MTC Interim Secretariat and technical agencies (the Commonwealth Secretariat-EU funded Hub & Spokes Programme II, ESCAP, the Pacific Islands Forum Secretariat, and the Melanesian Spearhead Group Secretariat), which led to the development of the Treaty; and invited Development Partners present, among which Australia and the United States of America, to lend their support to the successful implementation of the Treaty. 


The Deputy Secretary General of the Pacific Islands Forum Secretariat, Cristelle Pratt commended the FSM, RMI, and Palau for their sub-regional integration efforts, and re-affirmed PIFS’ unwavering support for the implementation phase of the Treaty. 


The signing of the Treaty establishing the Micronesian Trade and Economic Community was attended by the Prime Minister of Samoa and President of the 3rd International Conference on SIDS, Tuilaepa Sailele Malielegaoi, as well as Presidents and Prime Ministers of the Cook Island, Kiribati, Nauru, Tonga, Vanuatu and Tuvalu.




SEE ALSO: 

FSM official lauds signing of Micronesian trade treaty


__________________________________________________________



The Federated States of Micronesia, the Republic of the Marshall Islands, and the Republic of Palau sign a landmark treaty establishing the Micronesian Trade and Economic Community


Press Release #1409-04
Palikir, Pohnpei – FSM Information Services
September 04, 2014

Apia, Samoa (MTC Interim Secretary: September 3, 2014)

On September 3, 2014, the Presidents Manny Mori of the Federated States of Micronesia (FSM), Christopher Loeak of the Republic of the Marshall Islands, and Thomas Remengesau Jr. of the Republic of Palau, officially formalized their historical trade and economic bonds by signing the Treaty establishing the Micronesian Trade and Economic Community (MTEC). The signing took place in the margins of the 3rd International Conference on Small Island Developing States, during a consultative breakfast Meeting between Pacific Islands Countries’ Leaders and Dr. Shamshad Akhtar, Under-Secretary-General of the United Nations and Executive Secretary of ESCAP. 

The vision and goals of the Treaty are to “…endeavor towards the creation of a Micronesian Trade and economic community through the promotion of sub-regional trade and economic cooperation and integration to support the achievement of sustainable and equitable socio-economic development of its Member States and improve the standard and quality of life of their People, thus contributing to the progress and development of Asia and the Pacific Region.” 

In their statements following the signing, the three Presidents emphasized the historical importance of the signing event. President Mori underscored the significance of the Treaty and characterized it as a “true reflection of the Micronesian spirit of collaboration which characterized the relations between the three entities.” He indicated that the Treaty provides the appropriate institutional framework through which producers of the three countries could network and meet the demands of the domestic and international markets, in particular for agriculture, aquaculture, and tourism products. Furthermore, President Mori noted that there were provisions in the Treaty allowing the sisters Republics of Kiribati, Nauru, and the Territories of Guam and Commonwealth of Northern Mariana Islands to join at a later stage.  

President Loeak noted that “the signing occasion marked a significant milestone for the three Nations in their efforts to fully integrate trade and economic initiatives.” He also stressed that “the Micronesian Trade and Economic cooperation and integration initiative constituted a building block towards greater integration of the three Countries in the Pacific, Asia and the global economy as envisaged in the New Framework for Pacific Regionalism.”  

Taking the example of the copra industry, which collapsed in Palau 20 years ago, President Remengesau Jr. stressed that through sub-regional trade and economic cooperation and integration pursued under the treaty, it would be possible for productive sector to consolidate the volume of the products available, and thus increase the raw material available to support the development of small industries. 

The Presidents of the three Countries commended the partnership between the MTC Interim Secretariat and technical agencies (the Commonwealth Secretariat-EU funded Hub & Spokes Programme II, ESCAP, the Pacific Islands Forum Secretariat, and the Melanesian Spearhead Group Secretariat), which led to the development of the Treaty; and invited Development Partners present, among which Australia and the United States of America, to lend their support to the successful implementation of the Treaty. The Deputy Secretary General of the Pacific Islands Forum Secretariat, Ms. Cristelle Pratt, commended the FSM, RMI, and Palau for their sub-regional integration efforts, and re-affirmed PIFS’ unwavering support for the implementation phase of the Treaty. 

The signing of the Treaty was attended by the Prime Minister of Samoa and President of the 3rd International Conference on SIDS, Tuilaepa Sailele Malielegaoi, as well as Presidents and Prime Ministers of the Cook Island, Kiribati, Nauru, Tonga, Vanuatu and Tuvalu.

For more information please contact the Interim Secretariat (FSM Department of Resources and Development), at telephone number (691) 320-5133.



15 September 2014

Bonaire civil society continues quest for genuine self-determination (Papiamento, Dutch)

Nos Ke Boneiru Bek
Papiamento


Na: Gezaghebber i presidente di konseho insular Sr Rijna
Miembronan di Raad
Plaza Wilhelmina, Bonaire

Bonaire, 6 september 2014

Geachte Heer De Gezaghebber, alsmede geachte Raadsleden ,
Apresiabel Sr Gezaghebber i miembronan di Raad,

Awe 6 di september ta selebra “Dia di Boneiru”. Fiesta nashonal ofisial kaminda e enfasis ta wordu pone riba e unidat komo peublo Boneriano, pues nos bandera i himno nashonal e sintimentu di nashonalismo di e pueblo Boneriano ta sobresali den tur sorto di aspekto, folkloriko, kultural te ku logronan deportivo ku ta hasi nos pueblo sinti su mes orguyoso komo pueblo Boneriano.

Segun nos analisis i opinion ta parse ku e dia di Boneiru aki si no ta e ultimo pa “pueblo Boneriano autentiko” mirando tur e hechosnan i direkshon ku nos ta wordu dirigi i goberna dor di Den Haag i si no bini un kambio abrupto den esaki.

Pa nos e karta aki tambe lo ta e delaster karta dirigi na boso, kaminda boso ta karga e responsabilidat final, despues di e kontesta di Hulanda di ku nan lo no usa nan poder di alto mando pa organisa un referendum pa nos, i ta pone boso komo konseho insular responsabel pa organisa esaki. Hulanda komienso di e anja aki a rekonose i reinstala nos derecho di autodeterminashon den su totalidat. Nos pueblo por laga tende su bos i por hasi un otro eskoho den Reino ku Hulanda lo respeta i kaminda nos lo por ta mas miho sirbi i sinti nos mas felis. Nan ta dispuesto pa regenosha ku nos i kopera riba base di prinsipionan di ley internashonal di buena fe, integridat i rasonabilidat. Ta sali na kla ku boso ta neglisha e oportunidat nobo aki pa boso den forma di union por realisa nos deseonan komun pa adelanto di bienestar pa nos pueblo. I si boso no tuma un desishon dentro korto tempu, lo no tin nesesidat pa esaki mas pasobra e druk di tempo i perido kortiku pa organisa un referendum pa e pueblo lo no ta alkansabel i ku boso ta laga na e pueblo mes pa buska manera kon sin boso koperashon i asistensia komo nan representante, nos problema komun, pa restablese su derechonan ku a kita for di dje.

Hecho ta ku riba 10-10-10 dor di e anekshon illegal di Boneiru den e konstelashon Hulandes komo Entidat Publiko bao di artikulo 134 di e Konstitushon Hulandes a wordu komete un grave violashon di akuerdonan internashonal, leynan i derechonan humano di e pueblo Bonerianio. Aki un di e leynan mas prinispal di e eksistensia humano aktual a wordu viola, e derecho demokratiko i poder di e pueblo Boneriano a wordu entrega illegalmente na e ex-kolonisado, Hulanda, kaminda Hulanda, Den Haag, via nan parlamentu i gobiernu ta rigi i disidi ku regulashonan, leglislashon i mas. Esaki a flits nos pueblo Boneriano bek den tempu kolonial, prome ku e komienso di e pais autonomo Antias. Ku otro palabra nos ta atrobe un teritorio-sin-propio-gobernashon, manera kolonial antikua, pues goberna i administra dor di e estado kolonisador cosmopolitano Europeo komo teritorio ultramar, presies manera tabata prome ku e akuerdonan ku Hulanda a akorda i firma den Nashonan Uni. Esaki ta parse i keda un tema komplika te ku awe asta pa nos lidernan lokal i autoridatnan, gobernantenan i representantenan di pueblo na un manera inkonsiente i humilde ta mira i aserka e situashon i ta stuur i manipula e pueblo Boneriano di nobo den un status di neokolonialismo moderno. Ta klopt manera Minister Plasterk a ekspresa esaki den su kontesta kaminda Hulanda ta rekonose ku nan a viola nos derechonan i nan akuerdonan den Nashonan Uni. Pues segun Minister Plasterk, responsabel pa posishon di Hulanda enkuanto di asuntunan di struktura estatal: “ Ta dus un situashon kompleho. Ami no ta bai mas diep den esaki, pero bo lo komprende e situashon solamente pa medio di historia. E historia si a eksisti. Te aki e historia a trese nos i di aki nos mester purba pa e Bida Bon. Ku letternan kapital, ser krea pa e habitantenan di nos Reino”. Nos derechonan humano i derechonan komo pueblo a wordu illegalmente trose, viola i kita i a wordu intensamente protesta dor di e pueblo for di prinsipio di e pesadia 10-10-10 struktura estatal. Kartanan invidual di suidananonan, lokal, pa Hulanda, forumnan internashonal i Nashonan Uni, akshonan di protesta, manifestashonan, akshonan di firma te ku rechaso massal di e votashon pa 2de kamer su parlamentu pa para Den Haag su avanse pa legalisa e status illegal di Entidat Publiko i mas. Boso a risibi tur e kartanan aki i tambe a eksperiensa tur e akshonan i te ku awe sin ningun respet na boso suidanonan a konfirma o rekonose esakinan ofisialmente.

Aunkue nos pueblo a wordu illegalmente mara dor di dos(2) proseso di referendum fraudulento I despues e akuerdonan di 10-10-10 OLB- BES akorda sea bolunatriamente o bao di preshon gobernamentalmente I sin niun kaminda bek o salida di akuerdo ku e akuerdonan aki(waak karta BZK 6 april 2012 ref# 2012-0000025798) dor di e pueblo su inisiativa sivil dirigi ku e meta I konsekwente ilustrando riba e hecho ku nos “derechonan humano I di pueblo” a wordu viola I Hulanda di un manera illegal a podera I hasi donjo di esakinan a forsa un avanse. Hulanda a rekonose su reposishon illegal I a bolbe restablese nos derechonan na nos disponibilidat pa por reklama nan. E Minister di Relashonan di Reino a komunika esaki hopi kla den parlamento (notulonan reunion 33750-IV) “E struktura ta konose sierto asimetria. E asymetria ta deriva for di e karta di Nashonan Uni… Ningun di nos no a eksperiensa esaki I no ta individualmente responsabel pa e kurso di historia, pero e historia a sosode si. 

Esey ta trese ku ne ku no ta permiti ku e ex-kolonisado por disidi pa saka un di ex-kolonianan pafo di Reino, I di otro banda kada un di e seis(6) islanan na kualke momento tin derecho riba autdeterminashon I tin derecho pa skohe un relashon mas los. Pues tin di hasi ku e asymetrie den e sentido ku na kualke momento kada un di e seis teritorionan ultramar , islanan den e kaso aki por disidi di tuma mas distansia for di e pais Hulanda. Ta posibel pa un Entidat Publiko disidi pa hanja karakter di un pais I di asina ta mas los for di e pais Hulanda. Tambe ta posibel ku un pais por disidi pa kualke momento Sali for di Reino of por buska un of otro forma di tin un relashon mas los. E inisiativa pa esey si nunka por ta kai pa banda di Hulanda.” I mas deklarashon pa hasi mas kla di parti di e Minister na e parlamento: “E karta di Nashonan Uni ta mara tur miembro di Nashonan Uni I e gobiernu ta sigur di plan pa keda miembro di Nashonan Uni. Ami ta anjadi na esey ku mi ta rekonose e rasonan ku Nashonan Uni ta subraya esakinan. I mas alew ku Bonaire ta liber pa skohe un otro status den Reino I ku hulanda lo no lo blokia esaki pero lo kopera ku esaki. I e Minister di Relashonan di Reino ta deklara esaki ofisialmente pa medio karta (BZK fecha 8 januari 2014 ref# 2014-0000012853) na nos: “E alinea final ta” “ Ku e pueblo di Boneiru tin derecho pa laga tende su bos e tin derecho riba autodeterminashonta ta un derecho atkeri ku no ta na diskushon I ta wordu respeta den su totalidat dor di nos Kabinete” 

Despues di esaki dor un inisiativa politiko pa uni e politikonan Boneriano eskitosomente ta resulta den un desishon unanime, dor di tur miembronan di konseho insular pa instala un komishon di referendum pa duna konseho na raad pa organisa un referendum. Pa di prome biaha den anjos I sigur despues di 10-10-10 a reina e sintimentu di rekonsiliashon I union di nos poltikonan pa e pueblo I a duna speransa di berdat ku riba union I speransa riba un kambio pronto di e situashon pa e pueblo.

Desafortunadamente e desaroyo positivo aki I proseso di rekonsiliashon, direkshon di un referendum tabata di korto durashon dor e regreso di Sr Booi den politika I komo miembro di raad nobo ta para I boicota e proseso di referendum. 

Remarkabel I un sekreto publiko ta ku Hulanda, tin Sr Booi bao di preshon tur e tempu komo e trekdo principal I pa kaba rond af I enforsa e status illegal di Entidat Publiko riba e pueblo Boneriano. Komo suspechoso den numeroso kasonan di korupshon entema dor Ministerio Publiko I net prome ku establesementu di e kontinuashion di e proseso di referendum, na entrega di e raport dor di e komishon di referendum, Sr Booi ta wordu deklara liber. Su prome akto komo representante di pueblo, I esaki e ta splika ekstensamente den speech di regreso komo miembro di raad, ku e no ta hanja ta nesesario pa tene un referendum I ta rechasa I kita esaki for di mesa pa medio di un moshon sostene pa e miembronan di raad den koalishon.

Awor net tin un zwai positive den proseso di referendum ku a stagna, pasobra eilandsraad den e kambio di presupuesto I riba presentashon di oposishon sostene pa Sr Santana, despues unaninamente ta presupuesta gastonan pa un referendum I ta akorda esaki. Sin embargo tin dos diferente koriente den eilandsraad pa ku ki tempu pa organisa e referendum, un ta prome ku elekshon I e otro ta despues di evaluashon di 2015 I no tin un klaridat pa establese un fecha

pa tene e referendum.

Esaki ta trese nos riba nos posishon I basa riba hechosnan ku nos a presenta den nos kartanan anterior for di prinsipio I ultimo komo inspreker den e reunion di konseho insular di 23 maart ultimo.

Ku for di e proseso fraudulente i illegal di e referendum di 2004 i te ku awo e kresementu di nos pobalshon a subi gigantesko ku 60% i ku e kresementu aki ta konsisti di 400% di imigrantenan; Hulandes Europeonan (250%) i ku otro nashonalidat (150%) i solamente 25% di Bonerianonan. E trend aki ta resulta ku awor ku mas ku mitar di nos poblashon ta konsisti di hendenan ku no tabata biba riba Boneiru prome ku 2004 i ku e Hulandes Europeonan ku kada dia ta sigui drenta te ku un dia prome ku elekshon , 18 di maart 2015 tur (illegalmente obtene) tin derecho di voto. I ku nos eksisitensia i mantenshon di nos identidat, integridat, norma i balornan, kultura etc komo pueblo Boneriano ta den peliger grave dor di e “movementu-di poblashon” illegal repopulando Boneiru illegalmente ku Hulandes Europeonan. Si ku e miembronan di raad ta realisa ku si despues di elekshon nan lo ta miembro di raad ahinda? I si ku ahinda nan lo ta den konseho insular pa por disidi riba ley pa referendum i e prosesonan pa laga esaki wordu ehekuta? Si ku e konstelashon nobo di e pobalshon di Boneiru despues di 2004, e repopulashon illegal ku Hulandes Europeonan i otro nashonalidtanan tur ku derecho di voto lo tin e mes un sintimentu i pensamentu manera nan over di Boneiru i un referendum? I si ku konseho insular lo ke kore e riesgo pa laga destino di nan yunan i nos futuro generashonan den man di otronan? E desishon ku ta boso dilanti awor komo representanbte di pueblo Boneriano ta pa mas liher posibel kontinua ku e trajekto di referendum prome ku elekshon, pasobra despues dii esaki segun tur datos estadistiko ofisial i hechosnan ta mustra ku intervenshon dor di e pueblo Boneriano pa medio di un referendum demokratiko lo no por ta posibel mas. 

6 di september 2014, Dia di Boneiru, nos ta manda nos mas profundo sintinmetunan di konbibiensa i amor pa e pueblo Boneriano ku for di 10-10-10 a wordu kita di nan derecho prinsipal komo hende, su derecho demokratiko pa tin mag i por goberna su mes, pues dirigi su mes futuro. E libertat i igualdat politiko ku Hulanda a akorda i ta responsabel i ta karga pa medio e “waarborgfunktie” i “zorgplicht” i ku lo tin ku juda i sostene desoaroyo i bienestar konforme e prinsipio di igualdat komo ex-kolonia, i huntu ku Hulanda i e otro islanan di ex-Antias, ku respet mutuo traha huntu na un Reino uni i prospero ku ta basa riba igualdat i libertat. Pues otro vez nos suplika na miembronan di raad pa realisa ku e uniko di solushon pa henter e pueblo Boneriano ta pa medio pa huntu, traha huntu na un vishon komun i duna nos pueblo e chens den un referendum riba termino korto pa ban huntu pe, un kambio pa e interes general i bienestar di e pueblo Boneriano kompletu.

Nos no a sobra ningun esfuerso pa sigui suplika pa por mara huntu ku un meta komun, un bandera Boneriano. Nos ta constantemente pa sigur kasi tres anja bezig pa mustra riba ku elekshon no ta e solushon, pasobra ta elekshon tin nos te ku awe dividi, pues pa nos problema komun mester bini un rekonsiliashon politiko pa uni e pueblo. Esaki ta nesesario pa huntu diskuti esaki,i huntu enfrente, i huntu solushona i huntu dtermina nos futuro komo pueblo.

Nos ta hanja i ta duna konseho pa ku e elekshon pa konseho insular di maart 2015, ku korientenan poltikonan i lidernan mester laga para di ta terko i hiba e problema fundamental aki den e elekshon. Pasobra eynan nos pueblo manera nunka antes den nos historia lo wordu dividi i fragmenta, un disturbio i kaos kompletu, ku ya kasi dies(10) partido politiko ku ta preparando pa ranka e pueblo Bonariano margina for di otro, kisas ku bon intenshon pa por solushona e problema solitario i heroikamente na nan mes manera pero sigur inkonsiente ku esaki lo resulta kompletamente robes pasobra net awor e pueblo mester wordu uni pa enfrenta e reto pa revisa e structura estatal i kambie. Sigur despues di elekshon lo tin un imagen robes di Boneiru manera nunka prome. I Hulanda lo bisa masha simpel, manera e ta hasiendo kaba, boso mes nos sa kiko boso nan kier, i lo mustra nos atrobe riba ku nos mes no sa kiko nos mes ke dor di e divishon grandi aki. I sigur despues di elekshon lo laga un imagen di divishon atras manera nunka antes. Hulanda lo sigui gewoon enkamina, wals pasa bai ku su tareanan i plannan. I no pa lubida tur e Hulandes Europeonan i imigrantenan ku ta birando o a bira e mayoria i ku ta reposishonando e Boneriano den posishon di minoria. Demokratikamente e grupo nobo aki di Hulandes Europeonan i imigrantenan ku derecho di vota sigur lo laga tende nan stem i opinion , pues ku nan mes vishon i rasonan ku nan a emigra na e Boneiru nobo lo laga sa kla ku nan voto tambe den formashon di opinion i tomo di desishon riba futuro di Boneiru. Resumiendo ta warda Boneiru un perspektiva nunka bisto di divishon dilanti nos porta, den e elekshonan di maart 2015. I pa nos ta inkomprendibel kon nos lidernan politiko no ta mira e trend bisto aki i e espektativa skur i no kier rekonose esaki i prevenie dor di simplemente un ratu komo Boneriano(no komo politiko) o ku ta stima e pueblo di Boneiru, komo un lider real ku ta uni i no dividi mas aun, juda e pueblo uni i rekonsilia pa e solo meta pa bienestar di e pueblo Boneriano kompletu. 

E otro aspekto ku no ta kla i ta trese divishon ta e evaluashon ku ta nada mas ku check ehekushon i e resultado di i dor di e aministrashon i maneho i legalaisahon dor di institushonan Hulandes di e status aktual illegal di Entidat Publiko dor ambtenarnan i gobernnatenan i no lo ta asuntu di politikonan ni e pueblo Boneriano i un referendum no ta parti di esaki. Pues e deseo i stem di e pueblo lo no ta forma parti di e evaluashon. I tampoko e miembronan di raad nobo skohe pa e pueblo. E evaluashon ta kanado kaba pa medio di diferente estudio etc i raportnan(p.e. NIBUD etc) i lo wordu dor di Hulanda, na nos poltikonan, gobernantenan i pueblo envolvi den promesanan, plannan, projektonan, plannan di perspektiva pa futuro trajektonan di mehorashon ku djies aki den e tempu benidero na kaminda pa elekshon i evaluashon lo ranki sali.

Kasi sigur e pueblo kansa i pusha den nesesidat i pobresa lo no tin resistensia pa motibu di nan nesesidat e lo laga nan wordu lastra den un futuro sin perspektiva ku no ta i lo no jega nunka den nan mes man mas pasobra referendum o kambio demokratiko di e status konstitushonal lo no ta parti di trajekto di mehorashon di e evaluashon. E poder demokratiko politiko lo keda den man di Hulanda, Den Haag su gobiernu i politikonan. Esey lo ta e kaminda sin-regreso unabes drenta e trajekto ey i mientrastantu e trein di e “moveshon di poblashon” ta sigui su rumbo i e repopulashon door di millones di Hulandes Europeonan desponibel ku por i ta emigra bini aki lo soru ku nunka mas te den etrenidat lo no eksisti e posibilidat demokratiko mas pa e Bonerianonan aktual por tin mag tin disidi i rigi nan mes futuro. Un perspektiva hopi somber, skur pero basa riba hechosnan real. 

Dor di esaki nos ta jega dor di preshon di tempu pa motibu di elekshonan i kampanja ku lo kuminsa djies aki i lo hasi tur kos atrobe brua i desordena i lo bai na dividi e pueblo atrobe, ruman kontra ruman, familia kontra familia, amigunan kontra amigunan etc etc, i ku tambe ta trese nos sigun nos na final di nos posibilidatnan pa jega na un solushon realistiko hustu i demokratiko pa nos problema komun pa medio di un referendum skohe uni komo pueblo pa un miho i prospero futuro. Nos derecho demokratiko komo pueblo a wordu illegalmente kita for di nos i neutralisa. Kon por ta posibel ku ta verwacht di e pueblo pa tene su mes na ley i regla i ku autoridatnan i gobernantenan ta viola i trapa nos derechonan humano i di pueblo i ta keda para riba pa no restora esaki? Ta na altura ku e pueblo tambe tin derecho pa resisti i opone na esaki i defende su mes di o ku kualke medio pa sigura su libertat politiko? Dor di tur e sosten di un of otro forma pa nos por lucha i para pa nan derechonan humano, i mirando ku no ta tumando e deseo di e pueblo na serio i apesar di pa un par di anja ku petishonan i akshonan pasifiko fuerte pa restora i revishon di dor di e enganjo a kita e derechonan, nos a establese nos mes pa e pueblo un fecha, ku nos ta determina i dispuesto pa riba 10 november 2014 si no bin un inisiativa i desishon serio i fecha pa dor di nos representantenan di pueblo pa e anja aki mes tene un referendum , lo brinda e pueblo e oportunidat pa por ekspresa su mes di un o otro manera riba su futuro. E dia aki ta balor historiko pa e pueblo Boneriano, kaminda e karakter humilde i pasenshi di e Boneriano tambe ta kaba un kaminda i a mustra su banda revolushonario i a lanta i rebeldia riba 10 di november 1834 bao di lideraszgo di Martis di Catalina Janga i eksigi mihor kondishonan di bida i mas libertat.

Di parti Nos Ke Boneiru Bek,
James Finies
Postbus 417, Bonaire.

c.c. Kabinet van de Koningin der Nederlandse Staat
Staten Generaal Der Nederlandse Staat



Nos Ke Boneiru Bek
Dutch translation


Aan: De gezaghebber en voorzitter eilandsraad De Heer Rijna
         De Eilandsraadsleden
         Plaza Wilhelmina, Bonaire

Bonaire, 6 september 2014
Geachte Heer De Gezaghebber, alsmede geachte Raadsleden ,

Vandaag 6 september wordt ‘Dia Di boneiru” gevierd. Officiele nationale feestdag waarbij de nadruk ligt op onze Boneriaanse eenheid als volk , dus ons vlag en onze nationale volkslied en dus het nationalistisch gevoel van het volk Bonaire komt tot uiting in allerlij aspecten, van folkloristisch, cultureel tot sportieve hoogtepunten die ons volk trots laat voelen als Boneriaans volk.

Naar onze analyse en mening schijnt deze dia di Boneiru de laatste alsniet de laatste voor het “inheemse Boneriaans volk” te zijn gezien alle feiten en de richting waarnaar wij worden gestuurd en bestuurd door Den Haag en geen abrupte wijziging hierin komt.

Voor ons is deze schrijven ook onze laatste brief en poging aan U geadreseerd, waarvan jullie nu de uiteindelijke verantwoording draagt, na de antwoord van Nederland die geen maatregel van bestuur wil nemen om een referendum voor ons te organiseren, en jullie hiervoor verantwoordelijk stellen om deze te organiseren. Nederland heeft begin dit jaar onze zelfbeschikkings verworven rechten onverkort erkent en herstelt. Onze volk kan zich uitspreken en kan een andere keuze in het Koninkrijk kiezen die Nederland zal respecteren en waarbij wij beter uit kunnen zijn en gelukkiger kunnen voelen. En zijn bereid zijn met ons te renegotieren en mee te werken op basis van internationale wettelijke beginsellen van goeder trouw, redelijkheid en integriteit. Het blijkt dat jullie deze nieuwe kans om onze gezamenlijke wens op verbetering en welzijn van onze bevolking te willen ondernemen als een gezamenlijk verenigd volksvertegenwoordiging blijven negeren. En als u geen beslissing binnenkort neemt dan is geen behoefte meer hiervoor of is door de tijdsdruk en te korte periode voor het organiseren van een referendum niet meer haalbaar om een referendum voor het volk te organiseren en U dan aan het volk dan zelf overlaat om uit te gaan zoeken hoe ze zonder jullie medewerking en steun als hun volksvertegenwoordigers en onze gezamenlijke probleem, hun ontnomen rechten zullen moeten herstellen. 

Hierdoor voelen wij ons genoodzaak het volgende met U te delen:

Het feit is dat op 10-10-10 door de illegale inlijving van Bonaire in het Nederlands Staatsbestel als Openbaar Lichaam onder art 134 van de Nederlandse Grondwet er een grove schending van internationale verdragen, wetten en mensenrechten van het Boneriaans volk heeft plaatsgevonden. 

Hier is een van de voornaamste en hoogste wetten van het huidige menselijk bestaan ovetreden, het democratisch recht en macht van onze Boneriaans volk is aan de ex-kolonisator, Nederland illegaal overgedragen, waarbij Nederland, Den Haag, via hun parlement en bestuur, reguleringen en wetgeving en meer bepaal en beslist. Dit heeft onze volk Bonaire terug in de koloniale tijd, voor de onstaan van de autonome land Nederlandse Antillen, teruggeflitst. Ofwel wij zijn weer een niet-zelf-besturende-gebied, ouderwets koloniaal , dus bestuurd en geadministreerd vanuit de koloniserende cosmopolitane Europese staat als overzees gebied, precies en net zoals voor de dekolonisatie afspraken die Nederland heeft geakoordeerd en getekend in Verenigde Naties. Dit lijkt en blijft een moelijke onderwerp die tot heden zelfs door onze lokale leiders en autoriteiten, bestuurders en volksvertegenwoordigers op een onschuldig en “humilde” invalshoek wordt benaderd en het Boneriaans volk opnieuw in een moderne neokoloniale status blijven sturen, blijven manipuleren. Klopt wel zoals Minister Plasterk het heeft verwoord in zijn antwoord waarin Nederland erkent dat ze onze rechten en hun VN internationale afspraken hebben geschonden: Aldus Minister Plasterk, eindverantwoordelijk voor Nederland positie omtrent staatstructuur aangelegenheden:“Het is dus een complexe situatie. Ik ga daar verder niet op in, maar je kunt de situatie alleen maar vanuit de geschiedenis begrijpen. Die geschiedenis is er wel geweest. Tot hiertoe heeft de geschiedenis ons gebracht en vanaf hier moeten wij proberen om het Goede Leven, met hoofdletters, te creëren voor de inwoners van het Koninkrijk.” Ons mensenrechten en volkenrechten zijn illegaal verdraaid, overtreden en ontnomen en er is hevig geprotesteerd vanuit het volk en vanaf het begin van deze nachtmerrie 10-10-10 nieuwe staatsstructuur. Van individuele burgerbrieven, lokaal, aan Nederland, internationale forums en de Verenigde Naties, protestacties, manifestaties, handtekeningacties tot massale afwijzing van het Boneriaans volk van de avances van Den Haag door middel komplete afwijzing van de 2de kamer verkiezingen als hun parlament en te trachten de illegale OLB status te legaliseren en meer. U heeft al dit schrijven en acties ontvangen en beleefd en heeft tot heden zonder enkel respect aan Uw burgers deze bevestigd of officieel erkend. 

Ofschoon ons volk illegaal bestuurlijk werd gebonden door middel van 2 fraudulente referenda processen en daarna de 10-10-10 OLB-BES akkoorden vrijwillig of onder dwang en bestuurlijk geen enkele terugweg of uitweg hieruit heeft conform deze overeenkomsten(zie brief BZK dd 6 april 2012 kenmrk#2012-0000025798) is er door het volk en civiele initiatief door middel van doelgericht en consequent te belichten dat onze “mensen en volkenrechten” geschonden zijn en Nederland op illegale wijze deze zijn toegekend of toegeiegend een doorbraak geforceerd. Nederland heeft zijn illegale toeeigening erkend en heeft ons volk weer onze mensen en volkenrechten ter beschikking gesteld om terug te vorderen. De Minister van Koninkrijkrelaties heeft dit namens Nederland duidelijk gecomuniceerd in de kamer.(notulen vergadering 33750-IV)” De structuur kent een zekere asymmetrie. Die asymmetrie vloeit voort uit het Handvest van de Verenigde Naties…... Geen van ons heeft dat meegemaakt en niemand hier is individueel verantwoordelijk voor de loop van de geschiedenis, maar die geschiedenis heeft wel plaatsgevonden.

Dat brengt met zich mee dat het niet is toegestaan dat de voormalige kolonisator besluit om een van de voormalige koloniën uit het Koninkrijk te duwen, terwijl omgekeerd ieder van de zes eilanden op elk moment het zelfbeschikkingsrecht heeft en het recht om een losser verband te willen. Er is dus sprake van een asymmetrie in die zin dat op elk moment ieder van de zes overzeese gebiedsdelen, eilanden in dit geval, kan besluiten om meer afstand te nemen. Het is mogelijk dat een openbaar lichaam besluit om het karakter van een land te krijgen en daarmee dus losser te komen staan van het land Nederland. Het is ook mogelijk dat een land besluit om op enig moment uit het Koninkrijk te treden of in de een of andere tussenvorm naar een losser verband te zoeken. Het initiatief daartoe kan echter niet bij Nederland liggen.” En verdere verklaringen om duidelijker te maken van de Minister aan de Kamer: “Het Handvest van de Verenigde Naties bindt alle leden van de Verenigde Naties en de regering is vast van plan om lid te blijven van de Verenigde Naties. Ik heb daaraan toegevoegd dat ik de redenen waarom het Handvest van de VN dit vastlegt, onderschrijf.” En verder dat Bonaire vrij is een andere status binnen het Koninkrijk te kiezen en dat Nederland deze niet zal blokeren maar mee zal werken. 

De Minister van Koninkrijkrelaties verklaart dit officieel per brief(BZK dd 8 januari 2014 kenmrk# 2014-0000012853) aan ons: De sluitalinea luidde: “ Dat de bevolking van Bonaire het recht heeft om haar stem te laten horen en recht heeft op zelfbeschikking, is een verworvenheid die niet ter discussie staat en onverkort door het Kabinet onderschreven wordt.”

Hierna is door een politieke initiatief om de Boneriaanse politici te vereningen succesvol geresulteerd in een unanieme, door alle eilandsraadsleden besluit om een referendumcommissie te benoemen om advies om een referendum te organiseren. Voor het eerst en sinds jaren en zeker na 10-10-10 was er weer een gevoel van rekonsiliatie en vereniging van de poltici voor het volk te verkennen en gaf het volk ware hoop op “union” en op hoop op een spoedige verandering in de situatie voor het volk.

Helaas was deze positieve ontwikkeling en reconcialtie process, richting een referendum van korte duur en vastgelopen door de terugkeer van Dhr Booi in de politiek en als nieuwe eilandsraadslid de referendumprocess stopte en boycotte. Frapant en volksgeheim is dat Nederland, Dhr Booi onder dwang houdt al die tijd om als belangrijkste trekker en het afronden van het illegalle OLB staatstructuur opleggen op het Boneriaans volk. En als verdachte in talloze door de OM aangelkaagde corruptiezaken en dan net voor de vaststelling van de verdere verloop van de referendum process, bij het aanbieden van de advies-rapport door de referendumcommissie, dat Booi vrijgesproken wordt. En zijn eerste daad als volksvertegenwoordiger, en deze uitvoerig uitlegt in zijn re-entrée toespraak als raadslid dat er geen referendum nodig is en daarna deze als motie verwerpt samen met de andere colega coalitie raadsleden. Dus het stem van het volk zal voorlopig niet gehoord worden aldus deze ongekende machtsvertoon en optreden van de volks-vertegenwoordigers in de coalitie.

Er is net weer een positieve zwaai aan de gestagneerde referendum-process, daar de eilandsraad in de begrotingwijziging op voordracht van de oppositie met steun van de eenmansfractie Santana, en daarna unaniem door de raad de kosten voor een referendum heeft gebudgeteerd en deze heeft geakoordeerd. Echter is er een tweestroom in de eilandsraad over de timing dus een referendum voor de verkiezingen of na de evaluatie van 2015 en er is geen eenduidig datum voor een referendum vastgesteld.

Hierbij komen wij op onze standpunt en gebaseerd op feiten dat wij hebben voorgedragen in eerdere brieven vanaf het begin en laatst als inspreker in de eilandsraadsvergadering van 23 maart ultimo:

Dat sinds de fraudulente en illegale referendumprocess van 2004 en tot heden de groei van de bevolking van Bonaire is van meer dan 60% en dat deze giganteske groei bestaat uit 400% imigranten;Europese Nederlanders(250%) en andere nationaliteiten(150%) en maar 25% uit Bonerianen. Deze trend resulteert dat er nu meer dan de helft en de meerderheid van onze bevolking bestaat uit mensen die niet op Bonaire woonden voor 2004 en dat deze, de Europese Nederlanders die elke dag blijven arriveren tot op een dag voor de verkiezing van 18 maart 2015 allemaal (illegale verworven) stemrecht hebben. En dat onze voortbestaan en behoud van onze identiteit , integriteit, normen en waarden enz als Boneriaans volk in hevig gevaar is door deze “illegale population-shift” om Bonaire te repopuleren met Europese Nederlanders. En dan of de eilandsraadsleden wel beseffen of ze na de eilandsraadsverkiezingen nog vertegenwoordigeres van onze volk zullen zijn? En of ze nog in de eilandsraad zullen zijn om over de referendumwet en processen te kunnen beslissen en laten uitvoeren? Of de nieuwe Boneriaanse inwoners-constellatie na 2004, de illegale repopulatie door Europese Nederlanders en andere nationaliteiten allemaal met stemrecht dezelfde gevoelens en gedachtes hebben als hun over Bonaire en een referendum? En of de eilandsraad het risiko wil lopen om de toekomst van hun kinderen en onze toekomstige generaties in de handen van anderen over te laten? 

Deze beslissing is wat voor handen ligt als vertegenwoordiger van het Boneriaans volk om zo snel mogelijk de referendum traject voor te zetten en voor de verkiezingen omdat daarna zoals alle officiele statistiek en feiten aanwijzen dat interventie door het Boneriaans volk middels een referendum demokratisch niet meer mogelijk zal kunnen zijn. 

6 september 2014, Bonaire dag, uiten wij onze diepste gevoelens van medeleven en liefde voor het Boneriaans volk dat sinds 10-10-10 ontnomen zijn van van hun voornaamste recht als mens, hun democratisch recht om zichzelf te mogen en kunnen besturen, dus hun toekomst zelf te kunnen bepalen. De politieke vrijheid en gelijkheid die Nederland heeft geakoordeerd en verantwoordelijkheid voor draagt middels de waarborgfunctie en zorgplicht en onze welzijn en ontwikkeling volledig zal helpen ondersteunen en realiseren conform de “gelijkheidsbeginsel” voor ons als ex-kolonie, en samen met Nederland en de andere ex-Antillen eilanden, met wederzijds respect samen opbouwen aan een verenigd en welvarend Koninkrijk die berust op gelijkheid en vrijheid. Nogmaals verzoeken wij aan de eilandsraadsleden , om zich te realiseren dat het enige weg en oplossing voor het gehele Boneriaans volk is om samen als volk, dus verenigd zo snel mogelijk samen te werken aan een gezamenlijk visie en onze volk de kans te geven in een referendum op korte termijn samen ervoor te gaan, voor een verandering in het algemeen belang en het welzijn van gehele Boneriaanse bevolking.

Wij hebben geen enkele inspanning gespaard om te blijven verzoeken om alle krachten samen te bundelen, met een gezamenlijk doel, onder een Boneriaans vlag. Wij zijn constant voor zeker ruim drie jaar bezig om erop te wijzen dat de verkiezing niet de oplossing zal zijn, daardoor zijn wij tot heden verdeeld als volk, dus voor ons gezamenlijk probleem moet een politieke reconsiliatie plaatsvinden om het volk te herenigen. Dit behoren wij samen te discusieren en samen aan te pakken en samen op te lossen en samen als volk onze toekomst te bepalen.

Wij vinden en adviseren dat voor de eilandsraadsverkiezingen van maart 2015, dat de politieke stromingen en leiders ervan moeten afzien met dit fundamenteel probleem door te draven naar de verkiezingen. Daar zal ons volk als nooit tevoren in onze geschiedenis verdeeld en versplinterd worden, een complete verstoring en chaos, met nu al zo’n tien (10) politieke partijen die zich gereed maken om de beperkte kleine Boneriaans volk uit mekaar te trekken, misschien met goede bedoeling om het probleem eigenhandig en heldhaftig op hun eigen manier aan te gaan pakken maar zeker onwetend dat het helemaal verkeerd uitpakt omdat nu precies nu het volk verenigd moet worden om samen sterk als een geheel de uitdaging een herziening van de staatstructuur aan te pakken. Er zal zeker na de verkiezingen een vertekend verdeeld beeld van Bonaire als nooit tevoren weergeven worden. En Nederland zal heel simpel, zegt het nu al , jullie weten niet wat jullie willen, ons weer duidelijk erop zal wijzen dat wij niet weten wat wij willen door al die verdeeldheid. Nederland zal gewoon doordraven, doorwalsen met haar taken en plannen. En niet te vergeten al het nieuwe aanwas van Europese Nederlanders en imigranten die de meerheid zijn aan het worden en zijn ondertussen geworden en de Bonerianen in de minderheidspositie zijn aan het repositioneren. Demokratisch zal deze nieuwe groep kiesgerechtigde imigranten, zeker hun stem en mening laten horen en voelen, dus met hun eigen nieuwe visie de redenen die ze naar het nieuwe Bonaire zijn geimigreerd duidelijk zal laten blijken dat hun stem ook meetelt in de mening en beslissing vorming over de toekomst van Bonaire. Samenvattend er ligt voor Bonaire een ongekende verdeelde toekomstperspectief voor de deur, de verkiezingen van maart 2015, te wachten. En voor ons onbegrijpelijk dat onze politieke leiders dit duidelijke trend en sombere verdeelde vooruitzicht niet willen erkennen en willen voorkomen door simpelweg even als Boneriaan (en niet als politicus) of die van het Boneriaans volk houden, als echte leiders die binden en niet verder verdelen, het volk te helpen herenigen en reconcieleren allemaal in het algemeen belang van het gehele Boneriaans volk.

Het ander aspect die onduidelijkheid en verdeeldheid schept is de evaluatie die niets ander is dan toetsen van de uitvoering en uitwerking van en door de administrerende en beleids en wettelijke Nederlandse intiteiten van de huidige illegale status van OLB door ambtenaren en bestuurders en is geen politieke of volksaangelegenheid en een referendum is geen onderdeel hiervan. 

Dus de wens en stem van het volk zal bij de evaluatie niet ter sprake zijn. En ook niet van de zgn nieuwe gekozen Boneriaans politieke volks-vertegenwoordiging. De evaluatie die al gaande is door middel van diverse onderzoeken en rapporten (vb NIBUD etc) zal door Nederland, onze politici en bestuurders en het volk gaan meetrekken in beloftes, plannen, projecten, toekomst-perspectief biedende verbeteringstrajecten die zo meteen, de komende tijd in de aanloop naar de verkiezingen en evaluatie van start gaan. 

Zeer zeker zal de uitgeputte en in nood en armoede zijnde gedreven bevolking geen weerstand kunnen bieden door hun nood en zich laten meesleuren in een uitzichtloze toekomst die niet en nooit meer in hun eigen handen zal zijn of komen doordat er geen referendum of democratische constitutionele staatsstructuur wijziging of gebied zal betrekken, de verbeteringstraject van de evaluatie. De politieke democratische macht zal in de handen blijven van de Nederlandse, Den Haag bestuur en poltici. Dat zal de weg van no-return zijn eenmaal in die traject en onderstussen blijft de “population-shift” trein zijn gang gaan en zal re repopulatie door de miljoenen beschikbare Europese Nederlanders die hierheen emigreren en kunnen emigreren zorgen dat er nooit meer tot in de eeuwigheid er geen democratische mogelijkheid meer zal zijn voor de huidige Bonerianen om zelf hun eigen toekomst te mogen en kunnen bepalen en beheren. Heel somber vooruitzicht maar gebaseerd op harde feiten.

Hierdoor komen wij ook door de tijdsdruk ivm de verkiezingen en campagnes die zometeen van start gaan en alles weer onduidelijk en onoverzichtelijk maakt en het volk weer gaat verdelen, broers tegen broers, familie tegen familie, vrienden tegen vrienden enz enz, en die ons volgens ons ook aan het einde van onze mogelijkheden brengt om een realistische en eerlijke democratische oplossing te vinden voor ons gezamenlijk probleem om door middel van een volksraadspleging samen en eenduidig te kiezen voor een beter en voorspoedige toekomst. Onze democratisch recht als volk is ons illegaal ontnomen en geneutraliseerd. Hoe kan men verwachten dat het volk zich wel aan regels en wetten moeten houden als de autoriteiten en bestuurders onze mensen en volkenrechten schenden en blijven volharden niet terug te willen herstellen? Weet men wel dat het volk ook het recht bezit om zich hiertegen te verzetten en zich te verdedigen en zich op alle mogelijke middellen kan beroepen om zijn politieke vrijheid te waarborgen? Door alle steunbetuigingen in een of ander vorm voor het opkomen voor hun mensenrechten, en gezien er niet serieus met de wens van de volk wordt omgegaan en ondanks enkele jaren alle mogelijke vreedzame en duidelijke verzoeken en uitingen voor herstel en herziening van door misleiding afgenomen rechten, hebben we voor onszelf voor het volk een datum vastgesteld, dat wij bereid zijn op 10 november 2014 indien er geen serieuze initiatief en datum dit jaar nog voor een referendum door onze volksvertegenwoordiging wordt vastgesteld, het volk de mogelijkheid te bieden zich te uiten op een of andere manier over haar eigen toekomst. Deze dag is van historische waarde voor het Boneriaans volk, waarbij het humilde karakter en geduld van de Boneriaan ook ergens eindigt en haar revolutionaire kant heeft laten zien en in opspraak en opstand kwam op 10 november 1834 onder leiding van Martis di Catalina Janga, die betere levensomstandigheden opeisden en meer vrijheid opeisden.


Namens Nos Ke Boneiru Bek,

James Finies
Postbus 417, Bonaire.


c.c. Kabinet van de Koningin der Nederlandse Staat
Staten Generaal Der Nederlandse Staat

12 September 2014

Gaston Flosse, discredited former French Polynesia President, reveals he was political surrogate for France in the Pacific

Gaston Flosse Blames French President Hollande For His Ouster


Former President: Hollande’s ‘weakness’ lead to rejected pardon request

Radio New Zealand

WELLINGTON, New Zealand (Radio New Zealand International, Sept. 8, 2014) – French Polynesia's former president Gaston Flosse has accused the French President Francois Hollande of weakness for not pardoning him after his conviction for massive corruption.

Speaking on local television two days after losing office, Flosse says Mr Hollande may have given in to pressure from Tahiti's Oscar Temaru and the Socialists in France.

Flosse was convicted in the criminal court, the appeal court and in France's highest court for running a vast network of phantom jobs.

While maintaining his innocence, Flosse likened the judicial process to Russian roulette.

Flosse also regretted the lack of recognition by France for having stood up for the nuclear weapons tests which he says allowed France to become one of the great powers.

He says he defended French policies across the Pacific and supported France over its dealings with New Caledonia.

Flosse says he is sure Jacques Chirac, who had made Flosse a French minister in the 1980s, would have remembered what role French Polynesia played.


10 September 2014

John Otto Ondawame, West Papuan freedom fighter and human rights defender, joins the ancestors

Benny Wenda

Free West Papua Campaign founder
Chairman of Demmak (the Koteka Tribal Assembly)


Today the fourth of September 2014 is a very sad day for my people as we received the news of the passing of a true West Papuan leader and freedom fighter, Dr John Otto Ondawame, the Vice Chairman of the West Papua National Coalition for Liberation (WPNCL).

I would like to pass on my deepest and sincerest condolences to the family of Mr. Ondawame on this day of such grief and mourning for all us Papuans and Melanesians around the world.
I myself knew John and we met several times to share sentiment for a Free West Papua and help to bring together a united voice for the West Papuan people.
He was always an incredibly strong and charismatic leader, putting his people before his own life.
Forever an outspoken Papuan leader, John was persecuted by the Indonesian military and forced to spend about half his life in exile in Sweden, Australia and finally Vanuatu where he died today. His incredible Free West Papua sentiment was undying and until his death, he firmly believed that one day our people will be free.

It has brought me such great sadness to learn of his death and today and I feel a strong sense of grief and sorrow for the passing of a true friend and fellow Papuan who gave inspiration to us all.
Throughout my life, I have learned a lot from John’s teachings and as my elder, he is someone I have always looked up to as a figure of wisdom for West Papuans.

John reminded us all that no matter which tribe we come from, what group we belong to or what our name is, we are all Papuans and we all share the same dream and ideal of a Free and Independent West Papua, uniting us all in one voice for our struggle.

John’s contribution towards a Free West Papua was both truly ground breaking and inspiring.
He has been an important part of our struggle from its beginnings, devoting his entire life to the liberation of our people.

West Papua had been waiting to be acknowledged as a part of the Melanesian family of nations for over 50 years and this year John help to make history by leading WPNCL into an application to join the Regional Melanesian Spearhead Group (MSG).

This year, for the first time, the application was warmly welcomed by all the fellow Melanesian nations and we Papuans were finally greeted back into our ancestral Melanesian family with our fundamental rights to self-determination also acknowledged by the MSG.
John Ondawame photographed by Humans of Vanuatu
John Ondawame photographed by Humans of Vanuatu


Among John’s other incredible achievements in the struggle, by helping us to finally cross the bridge and be accepted by our family as fellow Melanesians; John made one of the greatest contributions towards a Free West Papua.I will forever greatly miss John and his incredible spirit and passion for our country.
I am fully confident that this spirit will never die and that it will continue to enlighten and inspire my people, especially the youth, for continuing to peacefully campaign to finally liberate our nation from colonial rule.
I would like to give my dearest thanks and tribute to John for his outstanding commitment and courage in helping our people to be free.
May you Rest in Peace Dr John Otto Ondawame, you have contributed your entire life to the freedom of our people.
We mourn the loss of your life, but we will remain confident and assured that with such strong support from around the world as you gave and the unity you preached, one day we will all sing and smile together in a Free West Papua.

COMMEMORATING INTERNATIONAL DAY AGAINST NUCLEAR TESTS

INFORMAL MEETING OF THE UNITED NATIONS GENERAL ASSEMBLY TO MARK THE OBSERVANCE OF THE INTERNATIONAL DAY AGAINST NUCLEAR TESTS


Programme

The Meeting is convened under the auspices of H.E. Mr. John Ashe, President of the United Nations General Assembly, and organized in cooperation with the Permanent Mission of the Republic of Kazakhstan. 
  
Date:  Wednesday, 10 September 2014 
Time: 10:00 a.m. – 1:00 p.m. 
Venue: Trusteeship Council, United Nations Headquarters 

Opening Statements by:

  • H.E. Mr. John Ashe, President of the United Nations General Assembly
  • H.E. Mr. Ban Ki-moon, Secretary-General of the United Nations
  • H.E. Mr. Ermek Kosherbayev,  First Deputy of the Governor of Eastern Kazakhstan (Semipalatinsk region)
High-Level Interactive Panel on the Path to Zero: The Role of the United Nations in Nuclear Disarmament and Non-Proliferation 

The official opening ceremony will be followed by a High-Level Panel on the above theme. The panelists are expected to cover some key issues, including necessary steps for further progress on nuclear disarmament and non-proliferation, the establishment of nuclear-weapon-free zones, confidence building and other relevant issues.  


Panel Details  

Moderator 

H.E. Ambassador U. Joy Ogwu, Permanent Representative of Nigeria to the United Nations

Speakers
  • Ms. Angela Kane, High Representative for Disarmament Affairs, United Nations Office for Disarmament Affairs
  • H.E. Ambassador Libran Cabactulan, Permanent Representative of Philippines to the United Nations
  • H.E. Ambassador Guillermo  Rishchynski, Permanent Representative of Canada to the United Nations
  • Mr. Geoffrey Shaw, Representative of the Director General of the International Atomic Energy Agency to the United Nations
The panel will be followed by observations and questions from Member States. 

________________________

READ ALSO: 

Humanitarian consequences of nuclear weapons in the Pacific