24 November 2014

U.N. General Assembly Presidents join growing global call for implementation of international decolonisation mandate

Special to Overseas Territories Review


CPGA
The Council of Presidents of the United Nations General Assembly (CPGA-UN) has called for the introduction of special mechanisms to implement the self-determination process for the remaining dependent territories presently under annual review by the United Nations General Assembly.

This was one of a series of recommendations adopted by the CPGA-UN during its Fall 2014 Annual Session at United Nations Headquarters in New York. The recommendation was included in the Final Communique adopted at the conclusion of the of the Council meeting. 

Secretary-General Meets Former Assembly Presidents
U.N. Secretary-General  Ban Ki-moon (2nd left) meets with the Council of Presidents of the U.N. General Assembly (CPGA-UN)and its Executive Secretary during the Council's 2014 Session at U.N. Headquarters in New York.  UN Photo/Amanda Voisard


Excerpts from the 2014 Communique

"The Council of Presidents of the United Nations General Assembly, 



Welcomes the adoption by the General Assembly of Resolution 68/97 of 11 December 2013 on the Implementation of the (Decolonization) Declaration, and related resolutions on the question,

Urges the Special Committee on Decolonization to rationalize its method of work so as to speed up the implementation of the Declaration,

Laments that the number of non self-governing territories, rather than decreasing in numbers, has increased by one to include French Polynesia by General Assembly Resolution 67/265 of 17 May 2013, and

Supports the implementation of the 2006 Plan of Implementation for the Decolonization Mandate including, inter alia, the appointment of an independent expert to undertake an assessment of the progress and extent of self-determination in the remaining territories."


Chairman of the Council of Presidents of the U.N. General Assembly (CPGA) and President of the 58th Session of the U.N. General Assembly Sir Julian R. Hunte (2nd right) convenes CPGA meeting with senior U.N. officials during the 2014 Session of the CPGA. From right, President of the 57th Session and CPGA vice chair H.E. Mr. Jan Kavan; Chairman Hunte; President of the 69th Session of the General Assembly H.E. Mr. Sam Kahamba Kutesa; Deputy Secretary-General of the United Nations Jan Eliasson; St. Lucia Ambassador to the United Nations H.E. Menissa Rambally, and Dr. Carlyle Corbin, Executive Secretary of the CPGA-UN.  


Council of Presidents of the U.N. General Assembly (CPGA-UN) pose with Director of U.N. Counter Terrorism of the Department of Political Affairs Dr. Jehangir Khan (left) at the close of the CPGA  2014 Council Session. (Left to right) Dr. Khan, H.E. Mr. Amara Essy, President, Forty-Ninth Session;  H.E. Mr. Sam Kahamba Kutesa, President of the 69th session; H.E. Sir Julian R. Hunte, President of the 58th Session; H.E. Dr. Han Seung-soo, President, Fifty-Sixth Session; H.E. Dr. Srgjan Kerim, President, Sixty-Second Session; Dr, Carlyle Corbin, CPGA executive Secretary; and H.E. Jan Kavan, President, Fifty-Seventh Session.   



The 2014 recommendations on international self-determination and decolonisation process followed earlier conclusions adopted by the Council in its 2013 communique:

*****

                 Excerpts from the 2013 Communique


"The Council of Presidents of the United Nations General Assembly,

Recognises the historic role of the General Assembly in the self-determination process of dependent territories, and that the successful decolonization of over eighty territories since World War II was in large measure as a result of the political, material and other support provided by the United Nations;

Expresses concern that only two territories have successfully been decolonized since the 1990s, and that the that the countries which administer the majority of the remaining territories have withdrawn their cooperation from the Special
Committee on Decolonization resulting in little progress being made in the implementation of the United Nations decolonization mandate contained in the Charter, General Assembly resolutions and human rights instruments;

Takes note that the number of non self-governing territories has been increased by one for a total number of seventeen on the United Nations official list under Chapter XI of the Charter pursuant to the adoption by the General Assembly of
resolution 67/265 of 17 May 2013 on the "Self-determination of French Polynesia", and notes the adoption by the Special Committee on Decolonization last June of its first resolution ever on "The Question of French Polynesia."

Welcomes the participation of H.E. Oscar Temaru, five-time president of French Polynesia, his extensive briefing on the challenges to the decolonization process in his country, his request to the United Nations for assistance in the public education campaign of the territory in order to heighten the awareness of the people of their valid political status options in conformity with the principle of full and absolute political equality, and issues related to the effects of atomic radiation on the people as a result of 30 years of nuclear testing during the Cold War;

Calls for the use of innovative means to give effect to the United Nations decolonization mandate including the use of special mechanisms such as an Independent Expert/Special Rapporteur, expert groups or other relevant modalities to examine in depth the political situation in each of the remaining territories, and to advise the President of the General Assembly and the Secretary-General of suitable means to implement the decolonization mandate in these territories."



23 November 2014

Incumbent Northern Mariana Islands Governor wins re-election


IT Wins
Four more years


RIDING on a wave of good economic news, the Republican tandem of Gov. Eloy S. Inos and Senate President Ralph D.L.G. Torres coasted to an easy victory in the runoff election on Friday against the Independent team of former Speaker Heinz S. Hofschneider and former Sen. Ray N. Yumul.


IT won in 10 of the CNMI’s 13 election precincts while also besting HY in the absentee and early voting results.

Based on the Commonwealth Election Commission’s unofficial results late Friday night, IT garnered a total of 6,547 votes or 57 percent of the total votes cast while HY got 4,948 or 43 percent.

Compared to the general elections, the turnout for the runoff was lower: 13,798 cast their ballots in the four-way race on Nov. 4 while the total votes cast for the Nov. 21 runoff was 11,495, but this figure does not include all the absentee votes.

At the multi-purpose center in Susupe, the first results were announced by Election Commission Executive Director Robert Guerrero just after 8 p.m.: early voting on Saipan, Precinct 2 and Precinct 3A, giving IT the lead, 2,802 - 1,830.

The votes were counted manually, but there were only two gubernatorial teams on the ballot and the tabulation process was a lot smoother this time around. Soon, Team IT expanded its lead, losing only to HY in Precincts 3A and 3B, where Hofschneider and Yumul reside, and in Precinct 4B.

Guerrero said some 2,385 absentee ballots were mailed of which 444 were counted on Friday night. IT garnered 323; HY, 121. Commission Chairwoman Frances Sablan in an interview said they had not yet received 1,941 absentee ballots, but IT leads by 1,599 votes and the chances of HY overtaking the GOP tandem by getting most of the remaining absentee votes — which will be tabulated on Dec. 5 — are slim. In the four-way race on Nov. 4, IT received 52 percent of the absentee votes.

Guerrero said he’s “relieved that it’s finally over.”

He said the tabulation would have been quicker “if we used modern technology but there were issues with the machine during the general elections, and hopefully this won’t happen again in the future. We walked and stumbled but we managed to correct every mistake so everything is still good.”

Guerrero said the official results will be certified on Dec. 5.

On Friday, the polls opened at 7 a.m. and closed at 7 p.m. The election commission board started sorting the ballots from the early voting at around 7 and started counting them at 8 p.m. The counting was over at around 11:30 p.m.

READ THE FULL STORY IN MARIANAS VARIETY


21 November 2014

Recent developments in French Polynesia/Ma'ohi Nui - Nic Maclellan

PACIFIC POLITICS


As French president Francois Hollande visits the region for the G20 summit, Nic Maclellan looks at recent developments in French Polynesia.


Gaston Flosse, one of the Pacific’s longest serving politicians, has been removed from office as President of French Polynesia, after exhausting all avenues of appeal against his conviction for misappropriation of public funds.


But while Flosse is out of office, he’s not out of power. Today, Flosse’s Tahoeraa Huiraatira party still maintains significant control at all levels of government in French Polynesia. This ongoing influence means that French Polynesia is finding it difficult to develop new development paradigms to address long-standing economic challenges.

While defeated in 2013 elections for French Polynesia’s local Assembly, independence leader Oscar Manutahi Temaru has been successful in mobilising greater involvement by international organisations to monitor developments in French Polynesia. The United Nations Special Committee on Decolonisation, the Pacific Islands Forum and Pacific governments have all joined the debate over French Polynesia’s future political status.

READ THE FULL REPORT IN PACIFIC POLITICS



20 November 2014

Independent gubernatorial team defeats Democratic Party team in US Virgin Islands elections

St. Thomas Source

Unofficial Results Show Mapp 

is New Governor


19 November 2014

St. Croix freedom fighter, agriculturalist Kendall 'Seigo' Petersen joins the ancestors



Proponent of agriculture/aquaculture as the key 
to territory's economic development;

Elected Member of Fifth Constitutional Convention
of the U.S. Virgin Islands 


photo by: stthomassource.com


Youngest son of Clarissa Messer-Petersen and Frank "Frankie-Pete" Petersen 

Born in Frederiksted on February 10th, 1962

For more than 20 years, represented the people of St. Croix in numerous areas of public, private, and community service

Activist and a community leader, educator, agriculturalist and farmer. Father and a grandfather. Youth mentor

Culture-bearer and native Virgin Islander 

Chair of Committee on Citizenship, Virgin Islands Rights, Historical and Environmental Preservation, Fifth Constitutional Convention

Vice-President of St. Croix Farmers in Action

Vice President of Ethiopian World Federation

Vice President African-Caribbean Reparations and Resettlement Alliance (ACRRA)




18 November 2014

Scientists question potential new dependence on natural gas for Caribbean electricity generation


4 Reasons Natural Gas Is a Bridge to Nowhere in the Caribbean



Caribbean island residents pay some of the highest retail electricity prices in the world. Most islands generate 90 – 100 percent of their electricity by burning expensive imported diesel or heavy fuel oil in large generators. Thus Caribbean electricity users pay between $0.20 and $0.50/kWh (kilowatt hour). By comparison, the average for mainland U.S. residential customers is $0.13/kWh; in Hawaii, where they burn oil for much of their electricity, the average is $0.39/kWh.
Naturally, Caribbean islands are in the market for more affordable alternatives. Some islands are seriously pursuing renewables—witness Jamaica’s 20-MW-and-growing wind farm and the Dominican Republic installing one of the largest solar arrays in the Caribbean. Some other islands such as the U.S. Virgin Islands are experimenting with different fossil fuels that don’t require major capital investments, like propane.
But another option looms on the horizon: natural gas. A recent U.S. Energy Information Administration article and a soon-to-be-released International Development Bank study noteliquefied natural gas (LNG) is increasingly being touted as a cost-effective solution for the Caribbean.
This is more than unfortunate. Switching from one imported fossil fuel (diesel/oil) to another (LNG)—the latter of which is currently slightly less expensive but much more price-volatile—overlooks the Caribbean’s abundant, domestic supply of cost-effective energy efficiency and renewable energy.
One Colombian island in the western Caribbean, San Andres, is grappling now with the future of its electricity generation, including the relative merits of LNG compared to efficiency and renewables. It becomes quickly clear that there are at least four important reasons LNG is the wrong choice for the Caribbean’s electricity.
READ THE FULL REPORT HERE.


17 November 2014

In The Northern Mariana Islands, Democratic Party candidates endorse Republicans in Nov. 21 runoff election for governor

CNMI Democratic Party Endorses Republican Governor In Runoff


Incumbent Inos and Torres face independents 
on Nov. 21 election

Saipan Tribune


By Mark Rabago

SAIPAN, CNMI (Saipan Tribune, Nov. 10, 2014) – Gov. Eloy S. Inos and Senate President Ralph DLG. Torres’ (R-Saipan) campaign got a boost yesterday with the CNMI Democratic Party endorsing the NMI Republican Party bets’ bid in the gubernatorial runoff elections set for Nov. 21.

The GOP team said it is extremely pleased to announce the endorsement of Edward M. "Tofila" DeLeon Guerrero and Daniel O. Quitugua.

"We are humbled, grateful, and so thankful that Ed and Dan have joined our team. They ran a strong campaign based on their strong cultural plans and ideas and an unyielding desire to make our Commonwealth stronger. Ralph and I welcome them and their message of hope into our campaign with open arms," said Inos.

DeLeon Guerrero said he believes the CNMI is better off under the leadership of the Inos-Torres team and that’s why the Democratic Party has endorsed the GOP bets.

"While our campaign was not successful as we had hoped, Dan and I are not giving up on our passion to help the people, particularly those who are continuing to struggle daily. After meeting with the team of Inos and Torres, we are confident that our supporters’ aspirations will be addressed and our Commonwealth will continue to move forward and grow even stronger."

The Democratic Party standard-bearer also encouraged their supporters to vote for Inos and Torres in the runoff election slated for Nov. 21.

"Our entire slate of candidates, including Tinian, will respectfully ask all their supporters to join us and work to help Gov. Inos and Sen. Torres get elected in the runoff election on November 21st."

Inos said the endorsement of DeLeon Guerrero and Quitugua is critical in helping his administration continue the good works it has done in reviving the islands’ economy.

"We are also thankful to the entire slate of candidates who ran on the Democrat ticket under Ed and Dan that are also joining us. With additions of hundreds of supporters every day, our Solutions-Driven Leadership team is gathering more momentum every day."

The campaign of former Juan N. Babauta and Juan S. Torres, meanwhile, endorsed the Inos-Torres tandem in print advertisements on the Saipan Tribune today.

However, in a phone interview yesterday afternoon, Babauta said he is still weighing his options but that an announcement on who his campaign will endorse will be out "in a couple of days."

Last Friday, Babauta and his advisers were seen meeting with GOP lieutenants over lunch at the Isla Café of the Kanoa Resort.

In an interview Friday, Babauta said nothing was imminent regarding his camp’s endorsement and that they plan also to meet with the party of independent gubernatorial bets Heinz Hofschneider and Ray Yumul.

GOP media coordinator Ivan Blanco, for his part, said they would let Babauta and company decide the best time to announce the endorsement of the Inos-Torres team.

"I will respect Mr. Babauta and defer his announcement of support when he’s ready to do so. The GOP is extremely grateful to his support as expressed to the GOP president [James] Ada and CTE (Committee-to-Elect) chair Greg Camacho, GOP officers, Gov. Inos, and Sen. Torres."

Blanco added that like Deleon Guerrero and the Democratic Party, Babauta only wants a better future for the Commonwealth.

"The gentlemen and their supporters only want to move past the mudslinging and contribute in the best way possible to the ongoing economic and social developments. The GOP welcomes them and looks forward to working with them for the next four years."

NMI Republican Party president James Ada echoed the remarks expressed by the Babauta/Torres and DeLeon Guerrero/ Quitugua parties after election night.

"I agree with these fine gentlemen that we should look on the positive side and run a clean campaign. One that is inclusive of all residents of the CNMI regardless of political affiliation. In the end, if we are fortunate, we will all be serving the same purpose for the benefit of everyone in the CNMI."

Ada said he and all GOP supporters look forward to working with the Democrats and the Babauta/Torres team and continue to welcome all their supporters into the family.

"We are all family, and I, as representative of the GOP, extend my hand to all the supporters of both camps. They ran great campaigns with passion. We will work toward molding their ideas with ours because that only makes those ideas stronger and all encompassing. Please join us. We welcome you with open arms," he said.

Last Friday also saw the GOP hold a road-waving campaign on the stretch of Beach Road starting from the Microl (Atkins Kroll) intersection.

Blanco said the size of the crowd of GOP supporters was considerably more than any road waving he’s seen before.

"We didn’t expect so many supporters would sacrifice their weekend to join us and express the GOP appreciation at the waving. Much appreciation to them and all the supportive motorists!"



Saipan Tribune

Ex-Naha Mayor opposed to the construction of new US base wins Okinawa gubernatorial race


The former Mayor of Naha Takeshi Onaga, 64, has won the Okinawa gubernatorial election, held on November 16. Onaga, who had support from a wide range of voters, re-stated his promise to oppose the plan to relocate U.S. Marine Corps Air Station Futenma to Henoko, Nago, where the governments of Japan and United States plan to build a new replacement offshore air base.

Onaga was born in Naha on October 2 1950. He graduated from Hosei University. After working as a company employee, Onaga became a member of the Naha City Assembly representing the LDP, in 1985. After serving for two terms, in 1992, he became a member of the Okinawa Prefectural Assembly. After serving for two terms at the Okinawa Prefectural Assembly, Onaga took up a post as the executive head of the Okinawa branch of the LDP. He became Naha Mayor as an independent and served for four terms over 14 years. Onaga left his office this year.

Four candidates ran in the gubernatorial race, including Onaga, incumbent Governor Hirokazu Nakaima, 75, former State Minister in Charge of Postal Services Privatization Mikio Shimoji, 53, and former Upper House member Shokichi Kina, 66. Nakaima had the backing of Prime Minister Shinzo Abe and his party. The incumbent has supported the government’s plan to move the Futenma base to Henoko, claiming he would stop the operation of the Futenma base within five years.

Onaga served as a co-representative of the executive committee that held an Okinawan people’s rally in 2012, which called for the closure of the Futenma base and the cancellation of the MV-22 Osprey aircraft deployment to Okinawa. He has insisted that Okinawan people should unite in an ‘All-Okinawa’ approach that goes beyond the framework of the conservative-versus-progressive party, in order to resolve the base issue. The ex-Naha Mayor has promised to follow-through on a petition to Prime Minister Abe requesting the easing of the base-hosting burden. This petition bears the signatures from the mayors of all 41 municipalities in Okinawa and the chairmen of the various assemblies.

Onaga is backed by the Social-Democratic Party, the Communist Party, the Okinawa Social Mass Party and the People’s Life Party. The Naha City Council’s conservative group members, who were expelled from the LDP after opposing the relocation plan, also supported the ex-Naha Mayor. They criticized Governor Nakaima’s approval of landfill required for the new base in Henoko.

In August, the government started a drilling survey for reclamation work in Henoko. Chief Cabinet Secretary Yoshihide Suga has said Tokyo will go ahead with construction based on the incumbent governor’s approval. Despite Onaga’s victory, it appears the government still intends to carry out the relocation work. Onaga will consider revocation or withdrawal of Nakaima’s landfill approval. The result of the election will have a serious impact on the relocation plan.

(English translation by T&CT)

Japan ruling party candidate loses Okinawa poll, setback for U.S. base move


(Reuters) - A candidate backed by Japanese Prime Minister Shinzo Abe's party was soundly defeated in a key local election on Sunday, a blow to plans to relocate a controversial U.S. air base on Okinawa island, home to the bulk of U.S. military forces in Japan.

Delays in relocating the U.S. Marines' Futenma air base have long been an irritant in U.S.-Japan relations. Abe is keen to make progress on the project as he seeks tighter security ties with Washington in the face of an assertive China.

Kyodo news agency said after the polls closed that its projections showed a former mayor, Takeshi Onaga, was certain to defeat incumbent Okinawa Governor Hirokazu Nakaima.


READ FULL REPORT HERE

14 November 2014

Election an opportunity for Okinawans to assert their identity


upload.wikimedia.org

VOX POPULI



Vox Populi, Vox Dei is a daily column that runs on Page 1 of The Asahi Shimbun


Who are we? Most mainland Japanese do not wonder about it in their daily lives. But it is probably a question many people in Okinawa Prefecture ask themselves constantly.

Here is a passage from a petition submitted in January 2013 to Prime Minister Shinzo Abe by the heads of all municipalities in Okinawa and the presidents of all municipal assemblies: "While living the history and culture of (the kingdom of) Ryukyu that have remained ingrained in us for generations, we, as citizens of Japan, have been of one mind with all Japanese citizens in wishing prosperity for the nation."

Representing the collective will of the people of Okinawa, the petition urged the Japanese government to abandon its plans to relocate the U.S. Marine Corps Air Station Futenma within the prefecture.

The people of Okinawa are Okinawans, but they are also Japanese. The self-image presented in the petition is what Masaru Sato refers to as a "compound identity" in his recently published "Okinawa Hyoron" (Okinawa review). A writer and former Foreign Ministry official, Sato is conscious of his Okinawan roots. His mother was born and raised on Kumejima, one of the Okinawan islands.

Noting in the book that lately he has come to think of himself more as an Okinawan than a Japanese, Sato explains that Tokyo's determination to relocate the Futenma base within Okinawa only serves to reinforce "structural discrimination against Okinawa" through the concentration of U.S. bases there.

The Okinawa gubernatorial election campaign kicked off on Oct. 30. The conservative camp is split, which is unprecedented. "The collective will of the people of Okinawa" that the petition represented in January 2013 has since become fragmented by the Abe administration's aggressive policy.

Voters must decide whether to accept or reject the relocation of the air base within the prefecture. But I think the decision also addresses an underlying identity issue, namely whether the voters see themselves more as Okinawan or Japanese.

This may be a tough call for many voters. But one thing to keep firmly in mind is that their predicament arose as a result of Tokyo's policy and the existing structure of discrimination.




New US runway, large military presence focal point of Okinawa election

Stars and Stripes Logo


In this file photo from Nov. 28, 2010, Okinawa Gov. Hirokazu Nakaima takes questions from reporters after winning re-election.



CAMP FOSTER, Okinawa — Okinawa’s gubernatorial election on Sunday is widely seen as a referendum on a new U.S. military runway and Tokyo’s policies about the U.S. military presence on the tiny island prefecture.

Incumbent Hirokazu Nakaima faces stiff opposition from former Naha mayor Takeshi Onaga, as well as former state minister Mikio Shimoji and musician-turned-representative Shokichi Kina.

To separate themselves from the policies of the 75-year-old Nakaima, Onaga and Kina have taken anti-runway stances while Shimoji wants a referendum to let voters decide.

Japan’s leading newspapers say Onaga is in the lead with Nakaima trailing. Shimoji and Kina are seen as dark-horse candidates with little chance of winning.

U.S. Embassy officials in Tokyo declined to comment on what the vote could mean for U.S. forces in the region, and it’s unclear what, if any, effect the vote will have on Japanese posture and policies regarding the U.S. military, but it could fuel a small but vocal protest movement or throw cold water on it.

“The election will serve as a prefectural referendum,” said Shinichi Nishikawa, a professor of political science at Meiji University in Tokyo and an expert on Japanese voting behavior. “Beyond the military issue, the election will be a vote of confidence on mainland Japan.”

Nishikawa said the military issue has become voters’ top concern.

The divisions in Okinawa began to jell in the late 1990s when some residents began to urge relocating Marine Corps Air Station Futenma from the island’s densely populated center. A CH-53D Sea Stallion crashed into nearby Okinawa International University in 2004, adding a sense of urgency to the issue.

A plan to move the operations to a more remote locale at Camp Schwab did not satisfy protesters who want a smaller U.S. military footprint on the island, which is home to more than half of the 50,000 American troops in Japan.

Further complicating matters were several sexual assaults by American servicemembers, as well as environmental concerns.

Many in Okinawa also harbor resentment toward the central government for treatment and policies going back centuries.

The protest movement largely blames Nakaima for bowing to Tokyo and approving the Futenma relocation to Henoko in late 2013. Though he was originally against the project, Nakaima was able to secure subsidies for the prefecture in the process.

Onaga has tried to unite Okinawans through their Ryukyuan identity, as opposed to Japanese, to block the relocation within the prefecture and the runway construction. He claims the military bases are the biggest obstacles to the island’s economic development.

“Moving the Marine Corps operations at Futenma to Henoko is certainly a big focal issue of this election,” said Nakaima’s senior campaign executive, Mitsuhiro Chinen. “However, the biggest point at issue is how to remove the danger currently posed to local communities surrounding the Futenma air station.”

Chinen said Nakaima has been successful in lobbying for the relocation of some flight operations to mainland bases. He also said Prime Minister Shinzo Abe has assured the governor that efforts are under way to relocate half of the 24 Futenma-based MV-22 Ospreys off island. The protest movement has focused on safety concerns for the plane-chopper hybrids.

The “U.S. military presence on Okinawa is crucial for the security of Okinawa and Japan,” Chinen said, citing disputes over the southern island chain. “Meanwhile, a disproportionate concentration of military facilities and installations on Okinawa is certainly something that we need to address and resolve.”

Onaga’s camp accused Nakaima of turning his back on the people and said that if the former mayor wins, the protest movement will not only grow, but he will do everything possible to disrupt and stop the relocation.

“Can the governments of the Unites States and Japan ignore the will of local people?” Onaga campaign chairman Yonekichi Shinzato said. “The outcome of this election will be the answer to [Nakaima].”

13 November 2014

Is Hawaii occupied territory under international law?

Is Hawaii Occupied Territory under International Law?






The annexation of Hawaii by the U.S. in 1898 was conducted illegally according to the 1991 Apology Resolution approved by both Houses of Congress and signed by President Bill Clinton (U.S. Public Law 103-150). 


In addition to the annexation being a violation of U.S. constitutional law, it was also a violation of international law according to a number of Hawaiian nationals and scholars. The most prominent among them is Dr David Keanu Sai who points out in his scholarly writings that there is no international treaty to support the annexation of Hawaii. 

He emphasizes that the 1898 joint resolution of Congress (the Newlands Resolution), signed by President McKinley is merely domestic legislation that has no validity under international law. The absence of any treaty substantiating the U.S. annexation of Hawaii means that the former Kingdom of Hawaii continues to exist under international law according to Dr Sai. His conclusion, supported by a growing number within the Hawaii Sovereignty movement, is that Hawaii is Occupied Territory under International Law.


A retired U.S. Army Captain, Sai became radicalized after he learned about the Apology Resolution and the true circumstances behind the annexation of Hawaii. He subsequently became politically active on the Hawaiian sovereignty issue. He served as a leading agent in the submission of complaints on behalf of the Kingdom of Hawaii before international organizations. These include: The Permanent Court of Arbitration at The Hague, Netherlands (November 1999 – February 2001); and the United Nations Security Council (July 5, 2001).

READ THE FULL REPORT HERE.

12 November 2014

““Spiritu di Martis di Katalina Janga ta bibu” (Papiamentu)

James Finies
Nos Ke Boneiru Bek

(English translation below)


Dialuna 10 di november 1834, 180 anja pasa katibu Martis di Katalina Janga, den plantage di gobiernu pariba na Rinkon, a disidi ku ta basta i no ta sigui asepta e trato inhumano i preshon di e bombanan ku sla di zwip pa forsa nan traha mas duru i ta rebeldía. Martis ta lanta su chapi kontra e bomba pa defende su mes i deklara ku e no lo asepta mas sla, i mester di espasio, si no e lo okashona un aksidente i no ta importe pa muri pasobra no ta bale la pena biba aki.

E bomabanan, ku ta di mesun rasa i desidiensa afrikano i ta katibu pero ta hanja sierto previligionan pa fungi komo hefe, i ta wordu konsidera traidor, a hanja ordu pa mara Martis i hibe forti. Pero un grupo di katibunan balente a sali na defensa di Martis ta uni na e lucha. Nan tambe ta di akuerdo i disidido meskos ku Martis, ku no ta nada malu nan a hasi, ta nan derecho nan ta buska, i no lo asepta i no lo sigui nan ordu.

E grupo balente aki di nos antepasadonan a mustra ku e Boneriano ku semper a wordu kalifika komo hendenan sumiso i humilde tambe tin su limite i un dia e lo no asepta mas inhustisia i lo para pa su derechonan i eksigi libertat.

1 juli 1863 Hulanda a aboli esklabitud, kasi un siglo después di tur otro nashonan Oropeo, i a kuminsa nos proseso di emansipashon. Na 1948 Hulanda, después di a wordu libera for di e okupashon Nazi pa e aliadonan, bao di preshon di e aliadonan a firma den Nashonan Uni akuerdonan di dekolonisashon i autodeterminashon pa nos bira donjo di isla di Boneiru i goberna nos mes i pa nos kuminsa ku kreashon di nos mes nashon, manteniendo nos mes idioma, norma i balornan, kustumbernan, kultura i identidat. Na 1954 nos ta hanja autonomía huntu otro islanan di Antias. Na 10-10-10 despues di enganjo i manipulashon di e pueblo Boneriano, ta destrui i disolve Antias, dividi e pueblonan Antiano, i ta entrega e isla di Boneiru ilegalmente bek na e kolonisado Hulanda. Hulanda ta goberna i domina nos for di Den Haag, manera tabata e kaso prome ku 1954, i nos ta perde nos autonomía i ta stop nos proseso di emansipashon komo pueblo Boneriano. 

Dialuna 10 november 2014, 180 anja después, e spiritu di lucha di Martis di Katalina Janga ta bibu i un grupo di residentenan Boneriano determina i konsiente di nan derechonan ta lanta atrobe i bai kana e kaminda o ruta di emansipashon, pa libertat, igualdat i fraternidat, aki di nobo bek pa demonstra i protesta i eksigi nos derecho i isla Boneiru bek pa sigui dilanti, desaroya, pero manteniendo nos autonomía i derechonan hereda i atkeri.

Un dia largu e grupo aki na honor di nos herue Martis di Katalina Janga lo lastima i sakrifika nan mes pa derechonan di e pueblo Boneriano i lo marcha, sali diadomingo 9 november for di kasnan di katibu na salinja i pasa den tur bario di Boneiru i bin termina, dialuna 10 november na “De Rhee” Playa i eksigi e derecho inalienabel i esklusivo di e pueblo Boneriano di por papia i skohe su mes futuro i destino.




 *****


“The spirit of Martis di Katalina Janga is alive”

Monday, November 10th 1834, 180 years ago slave Martis di Katalina Janga, in the east plantation of the government in Rinkon, decided that is enough and will no more accept more inhuman treatment and pressure from the slavemaster thru whiplash forcing them to work harder, stood up and rebel. Martis raise his hoe. against the slavemaster to defend himself and declared that he will no loner accept more whiplash, and need more space, otherwise he will create a accident and he donot care to die because it is not worth living here.

The slavemasters, that are of the same race, African roots and are slaves themselves but receives certain privileges to function as supervisor, and are considered traitors, has received the order to chain Martis and take him to the fort. But a group of brave slaves has come forward in defense of Martis and unite themselves to the rebellion. They also are agreeing and are decisive as Martis, that they did nothing wrong, their rights they are seeking, and will not accept and will not follow their orders.

This group of our brave ancestors has shown that the Bonerian that always has been known as submissive and humble also has its limit and one day he will no accept more injustice and will stand for his rights and demand freedom.

July 1, 1863 Holland abolished slavery, almost one century after all other European nations, and we started our emancipation process. In 1948 Holland, after being liberated from the Nazi’s by the Allied forces, under pressure of the Allies has signed in the United Nations the decolonization and self-determination agreements, and the island of Bonaire become ours to govern ourselves and start building our own nation, maintaining our own language,norms and values, traditions,culture and identity. 

In 1954 we got autonomy together with the other Antillean islands. On October 10, 2010 through deceit and manipulation of the Bonerian peoples, our country Netherlands Antilles is destroyed and disloved, dividing the Antilean peoples, and our island Bonaire is surrendered illegally back to our colonizer Holland. Holland is governing and ruling us from The Hague, as it was before 1954, and we have lost our autonomy and our emancipation process as the Bonerian peoples stopped.

Monday, November 10th, 2014, 180 years later, the spirit of fight of Martis di Katalina Janga is alive and a group of Bonerian people determined and conscious of their rights will rise again and will walk again the emancipation journey, for freedom, equality and brotherhood, and will demonstrate and protest and demand our rights and our island Bonaire back, to move forward, develop, but maintaining our autonomy and our inherited and acquired rights.

One day long this group in honour of our hero Martis di Katalina Janga will sacrifice themselves for the rights of the Bonerian peoples and march, starting on Sunday November 9th from the slavehuts by the saltsponds, passing through the neighbourhoods of Bonaire and finish Monday November 10th, at center of the city, Playa, and demand the inalienable and exclusive rights of the Bonerian peoples to speak and choose their own future and destiny.






11 November 2014

American Samoa voters choose new Congressional Delegate

photo by manuatele.net

American Samoa Elects New Non-Voting Delegate to 

U.S. House of Representatives


IFES Election Guide
Democracy Assistance and Elections News

Located in the Pacific, American Samoa has a population of 54,517 with 16,776 registered voters.[i] [ii] 

Preliminary results for the non-voting delegate to the U.S. House of Representatives have Republican challenger Aumua Amata RADEWAGEN winning 42 percent of the vote, while Democratic incumbent Eni FALEOMAVAEGA won 31 percent of the vote.[iii] 
Mr. FALEOMAVAEGA served 14 consecutive terms in office.[iv] Preliminary results for American Samoa’s House of Representatives and Senate are still being tabulated. 

Turnout for the election was not expected to be high.[v] Final results are expected in the coming weeks.

[i] http://www.electionguide.org/elections/id/2812/
[ii] http://www.radionz.co.nz/international/pacific-news/258598/american-samoa-voters-head-to-polls
[iii] http://thehill.com/blogs/ballot-box/house-races/223113-american-samoa-delegate-loses-seat
[iv] http://www.bellinghamherald.com/2014/11/05/3956414_1st-woman-elected-as-american.html?rh=1
[v] http://www.radionz.co.nz/international/pacific-news/258598/american-samoa-voters-head-to-polls